Read Microsoft Word - LCADC CADC requirements overview.doc text version

Becoming a Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LCADC) or Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC)

To download the LCADC/CADC application as well as the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee Statutes and Regulations, visit http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/medical/alcdrug.htm.

Requirements for Certification (CADC):

· · · · · · · · · See section 13:34C-2.3 of the New Jersey Administrative Code (NJAC) for more information (http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/alcohol/alcohol_laws.pdf) Minimum: a GED or high school diploma Complete 270 hours of CADC coursework or get approval from the Addiction Professionals Certification Board of New Jersey (APCBNJ) for college or graduate level courses you think may qualify (see page 15 of the LCADC/CADC application). Document 3,000 hours of experience. (Over 2 years; 1,500 hours equals one full-time work year) Experience must be obtained within five years of the application. 300 of these hours must be supervised practical training (see pages 9-10 of the application). Supervised practical training must be obtained within three years before sending in the application. A supervisor evaluation form must be submitted on your behalf (see pages 11-13 of the application). If you received your experience or supervised practical training at more than one location, obtain a supervisor evaluation from each location where you worked. Document attendance of self-help meetings (see page 14 of the application- must attend 5 AA, 5 Alanon, 5 NA, and any other 15) Complete the State-mandated criminal history background check process as directed by the Committee Successfully complete the written exam (may take up to three times in order to pass; after that must pass course[s] in areas where applicant has shown deficiency). In order to sit for the examination, approval of your application must be granted by the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee. Notification is then sent of approval to sit for the examination. Submit case presentation. Case presentation information is available on the Certification Board Website ­ www.certbd.com ­ click on "Applications and Forms", then on "Testing Forms"; slide down and get the "Twelve Core Functions" and "Directions for Preparing a Case Presentation" documents. Complete case presentation in format provided, being sure to refer to all of the global criteria in the "Twelve Core Functions" document. Successfully complete oral exam based on your approved case presentation. You will be allowed to bring "Twelve Core Functions" document into test with you; answer twelve questions about your case presentation, referring to all of the global criteria in the "Twelve Core Functions" document.

·

·

Biennial Certification Renewal Requirements:

· · · · · · · · · 60 Hours of addiction related continuing education every two years. Hours must fall within the two year period between renewals. Complete the requirement for six contact hours of continuing education in legal standards related to the practice of alcohol and drug counseling in New Jersey during initial certification period. (Courses/Instructors approved by APCBNJ) Complete the on-line renewal process or follow instructions to obtain a paper renewal form. $180 non-refundable renewal fee See N.J.A.C. 13:34C-5 for continuing education requirement information Application/Review Fee: $75 Certification Fee: $180 Criminal History Record Background Check: $78 ­ Payable to Sagem Morpho Certification Renewal Fee: $180 (every 2 years)

Non-refundable Fees (fees subject to change)

Requirements Licensure (LCADC):

· · · · · · · · · See section 13:34C-2.2 of the New Jersey Administrative Code for more information (http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/alcohol/alcohol_laws.pdf) Documentation of graduate degree in counseling, addictions or counseling-related area including 18 semester hours of pre- or post-masters education distributed over specific topic areas (see page 6 & 7 of the LCADC/CADC application). Complete 270 hours of CADC coursework or get approval from the APCBNJ for college or graduate level courses you think may qualify (see page 15 of application). 3,000 hours of experience. (Over 2 years; 1,500 hours equals one full-time work year). Experience must be obtained within five years of application submission. 300 of these hours must be supervised practical training (see pages 9-10 of the application). Supervised practical training must be obtained within three years before sending in the application. A supervisor evaluation form must be submitted on your behalf (see pages 11-13 of the application). If you received your experience or supervised practical training at more than one location, obtain a supervisor evaluation from each location where you worked. Document attendance of self-help meetings (see page 14 of the application- must attend 5 AA, 5 Alanon, 5 NA, and any other 15) Complete the State-mandated criminal history background check process as directed by the Committee Successfully complete the written exam (may take up to three times in order to pass; after that must pass course[s] in areas where applicant has shown deficiency). In order to sit for the examination, approval of your application must be granted by the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee. Notification is then sent of approval to sit for the examination. Submit case presentation. Case presentation information is available on the Certification Board Website ­ www.certbd.com ­ click on "Applications and Forms", then on "Testing Forms"; slide down and get the "Twelve Core Functions" and "Directions for Preparing a Case Presentation" documents. Complete case presentation in format provided, being sure to refer to all of the global criteria in the "Twelve Core Functions" document. Successfully complete oral exam based on your approved case presentation. You will be allowed to bring "Twelve Core Functions" document into test with you; answer twelve questions about your case presentation, referring to all of the global criteria in the "Twelve Core Functions" document.

·

·

Biennial License Renewal Requirements:

· · · · · 40 Hours of addiction-related continuing education every two years. Hours must fall within the two year period between renewals. Complete the requirement for six contact hours of continuing education in legal standards related to the practice of alcohol and drug counseling in New Jersey during initial certification period. (Courses/Instructors approved by APCBNJ) Complete the on-line renewal process or follow instructions to obtain a paper renewal form. $250 non-refundable renewal fee See N.J.A.C. 13:34C-5 for continuing education requirement information

Non-refundable Fees (fees set by regulation at N.J.A.C. 13:34C-1.10)

· · · · Application/Review Fee: $75 License Fee: $250 Criminal History Record Background Check: $78 ­ Payable to Sagem Morpho License Renewal Fee: $250 (every 2 years)

For more information: State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners, Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee Web: http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/medical/alcdrug.htm Phone: 973-504-6582

New Jersey Prevention Network 150 Airport Road, Suite 1400 Lakewood, New Jersey 08701

www.njpn.org

Information

Microsoft Word - LCADC CADC requirements overview.doc

2 pages

Find more like this

Report File (DMCA)

Our content is added by our users. We aim to remove reported files within 1 working day. Please use this link to notify us:

Report this file as copyright or inappropriate

255285