Read Microsoft Word - Internet Resources for Genealogical Research Handout.doc text version

Internet Resources for Genealogical Research

Free Software Legacy Family Tree - http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/ Personal Ancestral File - http://www.familysearch.org/eng/default.asp Family Tree Legends - http://www.familytreelegends.com/ My Heritage - http://www.myheritage.com/ Geni.com - http://www.geni.com/ Find My Past - http://www.findmypast.com/ Shared Tree - http://www.sharedtree.com/ Major Genealogy Websites Family Search (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) (Free) http://www.familysearch.org/eng/default.asp New Project - http://pilot.familysearch.org/recordsearch/start.html#p=0 Ancestry.com (Subscription) - http://www.ancestry.com/ Rootsweb (Free) - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/ New England Historic Genealogical Society (Membership) - http://www.newenglandancestors.org/ The National Archives (Free) - http://www.archives.gov/ &http://www.digitalvaults.org/# Footnote - http://www.footnote.com/ World Vital Records - http://www.worldvitalrecords.com/ Census Records Ancestry.com - http://www.ancestry.com/ FamilySearch.org - http://www.familysearch.org/eng/default.asp Heritage Quest http://www2.libraryweb.org/index.asp?orgid=466&storyTypeID=&sid=& Canadian Census - http://automatedgenealogy.com/index.html British Census - http://www.1901censusonline.com/ & http://www.1911census.co.uk/ Census Record Index - http://www.census-online.com/ 1940 Census - http://www.1930census.com/1940_census.php Immigration Records Ellis Island (1892 ­ 1924) - http://www.ellisisland.org/ Crystal Gardens (1830 ­ 1892) - http://www.castlegarden.org/ Breman Passenger Lists - http://www.schiffslisten.de/index.php?lang=en Irish Famine Immigrants - http://aad.archives.gov/aad/series-list.jsp?cat=GP44 Passenger Lists - http://home.att.net/~wee-monster/onlinelists.html Steve Morse - http://stevemorse.org/ Immigration Stories - http://www.immigrantjourneys.com/stories.html Military Soldiers - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ars/ Pensions - http://www2.libraryweb.org/index.asp?orgid=466&storyTypeID=&sid=& New York Pensions - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nydutche/pension3.htm Valley Forge - http://www.valleyforgemusterroll.org/ Mexican War - http://www.history.vt.edu/MxAmWar/INDEX.HTM Soldiers & Sailors - http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/ Soldiers & Regiments - http://www.civilwardata.com/ Regular Army - http://www.usregulars.com/armyhome.html National Archives - http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/topics/civil-war/ Official Records - http://soldierquest.org/essential_references.htm Traveler - http://www.civilwartraveler.com/ Grave Locator - http://gravelocator.cem.va.gov/j2ee/servlet/NGL_v1 American Fighting Ships - http://www.hazegray.org/danfs/ Military Index - http://www.militaryindexes.com/ National Archives - http://www.archives.gov/research/order/vets-records.html

Photographs - http://lcweb2.loc.gov/pp/cwphtml/cwprel.html#photos Photograhs - http://ahecwebdds.carlisle.army.mil/awapps/main.jsp?nn=Photographs&nt=series Cemeteries & Gravestones Worldwide Cemeteries - http://www.interment.net/ Rootsweb ­ Counties - http://usgenweb.org/ New York Cemeteries - http://www.idreamof.com/cemetery/ny.html Yankee Cemeteries - http://www.yankeecemetery.com/ New York Gravestones - http://www.newyorkgravestones.org/ A Very Grave Matter - http://www.gravematter.com/ Find A Grave - http://www.findagrave.com/ Newspapers Newspaper Archive - http://www.newspaperarchive.com/ New York Historical Newspapers - http://news.nnyln.net/ Old Fulton Post Cards - http://www.fultonhistory.com/Fulton.html Brooklyn Eagle - http://eagle.brooklynpubliclibrary.org/Default/Skins/BEagle/Client.asp?Skin=BEagle Library of Congress - http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/ NEHGS - http://www.newenglandancestors.org/ Libraries Monroe County Public Libraries - http://www2.libraryweb.org/index.asp?orgid=51&storyTypeID=&sid=& Library of Congress - http://www.loc.gov/rr/genealogy/ World Cat - http://www.worldcat.org/ Making of America - http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/ New York Public Library - http://www.nypl.org/digital/ Northern New York Library Network - http://www.nnyln.org/ On-line Books Index - http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/subjects.html Family History Archives - http://www.lib.byu.edu/fhc/index.php Google Books - http://books.google.com/ Universal Digital Library - http://www.ulib.org/ Current Events Eastman's On-line Genealogy Newsletter http://blog.eogn.com/eastmans_online_genealogy/2008/09/ancestrycom-and.html Dear Myrtle Podcast - http://podcasts.dearmyrtle.com/2008/07/09/dearmyrtles-family-history-hour-8-july-2008genealogy-podcast.aspx Genealogy Guys Podcast - http://genealogyguys.com/ Genealogy Encyclopedia - http://www.eogen.com/Home Blogs - http://blog.epcrowe.com/ & http://www.genealogyblog.com/ Societies The Mayflower Society - http://www.themayflowersociety.com/ Daughters of the American Revolution - http://grc.dar.org/dar/darnet/grc/grc.cfm?Action=New_Search Sons of the American Revolution - http://www.sar.org/ Rochester Genealogical Society - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nyrgs/ Message Boards Ancestry.com - http://www.ancestry.com/community/ Rootsweb - http://boards.rootsweb.com/?o_iid=33216&o_lid=33216 GENUKI - http://genforum.genealogy.com/ Canadian Research Library & Archives Canada - http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/genealogy/index-e.html Mary's Genealogy Treasures - http://www.telusplanet.net/public/mtoll/ontario.htm Your Folks - http://mesaieux.com/an/default.htm Marj's Place - http://retirees.uwaterloo.ca/~marj/index.html Quebec & Eastern Townships - http://simmons.b2b2c.ca/ Hugh Armstrong's Genealogy Site - http://www.cangenealogy.com/armstrong/index.htm

Home Children Links http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~tweetybirdgenealogy/homechild.html Home Children - http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/databases/home-children/index-e.html Young Immigrants - http://ist.uwaterloo.ca/~marj/genealogy/homeadd.html That's My Family - http://www.thatsmyfamily.info/ Land Records Bureau of Land Management - http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/ Land Record Glossery - http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/Visitors/Glossary.asp Old Deeds Essex County, MA (1641 ­ 1709) - http://www.salemdeeds.com/historic.asp Death Records Obituary Links Page - http://www.obitlinkspage.com/obit/ny.htm Death Indexes - http://www.deathindexes.com/ Funeral Records - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nywarren/ Maps U. Texas Maps - http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/united_states.html#states.html Google Images - http://images.google.com/ U. New Hampshire Maps - http://docs.unh.edu/digital.htm Beers Atlas (1866) - http://aleph0.clarku.edu/~djoyce/gen/saratoga/Atlas.html British Research UK & Ireland Genealogy - http://www.genuki.org.uk/ English Family History - http://www.pricegen.com/english_genealogy.html One Stop Shopping - http://www.genfair.co.uk/ Old UK Maps - http://www.old-maps.co.uk/ British Home Children - http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~britishhomechildren/ British History - http://www.historicaldirectories.org/hd/findbylocation.asp Gazettes Online - http://www.gazettes-online.co.uk/ Domesday Book - http://www.domesdaybook.co.uk/ UK Genealogy Links - http://www.genealogylinks.net/uk/index.html Family History on Line - http://www.familyhistoryonline.net/database/index.shtml Irish Research Boston Pilot - http://infowanted.bc.edu/ Griffiths Valuation (1848 ­ 1864) - http://failteromhat.com/griffiths.php Irish Research - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~fianna/ Emerald Ancestors - http://www.emeraldancestors.com/ History Library of Congress - http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html Eye Witness History - http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/ History Channel - http://www.history.com/ New Hampshire State Papers - http://www.sos.nh.gov/archives/nhstatepapers.html Hyper History - http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/History_n2/a.html Vital Records Public Records - http://www.ancestry.com/learn/library/article.aspx?article=10506&o_iid=831&o_lid=831 Vital Search - http://www.vitalsearch-worldwide.com/ Bible Records - http://www.biblerecords.com/surnames.html Distant Cousins - http://www.distantcousin.com/Directories/ Virginia Records - http://www.lva.virginia.gov/whatwehave/local/lost/ Chicago BMD - http://www.cookcountygenealogy.com/ Ray's Place - www.rays-place.com/ New York City - http://www.italiangen.org/ African American Research African American History - http://www.afrigeneas.com/ Freedman's Bureau - http://www.freedmensbureau.com/

Library of Congress http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ListSome.php?category=African%20American%20History Native American Research Native American Genealogy - http://www.accessgenealogy.com/native/ Native American Tribes - http://www.dickshovel.com/up.html Native American Resources - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~usgwnar/ Other Countries International Index - http://www.progenealogists.com/genealogysleuthi.htm European Immigration Links - http://www.aemi.dk/adr.php Polish Roots - http://www.polishroots.com/ Russian Genealogy Links - http://www.genealogylinks.net/europe/russia/index.html Italian Archives - http://www.italywgw.org/ Norway Heritage - http://www.norwayheritage.com/ Tools Old Calenders - http://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/ Deep Web - http://www.pipl.com/ Sun & Moon Data - http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneDay.php Ages - http://www.searchforancestors.com/utility/age.html Address & Telephone - http://www.whitepages.com/ I didn't cover what you wanted to hear? Cyndislist - http://www.cyndislist.com/ Linkpendium - http://www.linkpendium.com/ Google - http://www.google.com/

Information

Microsoft Word - Internet Resources for Genealogical Research Handout.doc

4 pages

Find more like this

Report File (DMCA)

Our content is added by our users. We aim to remove reported files within 1 working day. Please use this link to notify us:

Report this file as copyright or inappropriate

109767


You might also be interested in

BETA
US-ImmigrationRecords-March2009
Microsoft Word - Internet Resources for Genealogical Research Handout.doc
Microsoft Word - workbook-2.doc