Read Publication%20April%20-%20May%202011.pdf text version

Environmental Engineering Department News

Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Special Points of interest: Scholarship Awarded Javelina Athlete in Env. Eng. Col of Engineering Conference EVEN Organizations Dissertations / Thesis Undergrad Corner

EVEN Highlights

Student Achievements

Volume 2. Issue 5 April / May 2011

Nereyda Facundo Torres (MS) was awarded the Milton Feldstein Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $7500 for recognition of her academic excellence and professionalism by the Air & Waste Management Association (AWMA). Congratulations! Ashley Rivera (BS) is one of our Javelina Athletes on the golf team! Ashley will be participating in the Javelinas on the Border golf tournament in Mission, TX. June Ashley Rivera 8-9. Go Ashley!!!! Approximately 137 undergraduate students took part in the 2011 Engineering Student Design and Research Conference held by the College of Engineering. Prajay Gor (PhD), Alexander Murillo (MS), Ekundayo Ogungbe (MS), Revathi Eti (MS), Natalie Rocha (BS), Natalia Rojas (BS), Jonathan Gorman (BS), and Denis Guleiof (BS) presented posters. Natalie A. Rocha (BS) was awarded an "Outstanding Student" plaque by the Environmental Engineering department. April 27-28, 2011. The American Academy of Environmental Engineers (AAEE) Student Org. participated in the Earth Day's Event by setting up a wind power turbine at the MSUB outdoor garden area. The wind power was used to power a water purification demo. April 22, 2011. The AWMA TAMUK Student Organization has received a ranking of "Platinum" for this semester. They also received SOFC funding for next year in the amount of $500 for carrying out Waste Management Community Service Projects.

Inside this Issue: Alumni News Faculty / Staff News Excellence Award Publications Conferences

Dissertation / Thesis Presentation

Xubin Pan, Yuan Yuan and Jose Cabezas (PhD) successfully defended their Dissertation Proposals. Mara Contreras, Ekundayo Ogungbe, Hernan Lugo, and Kiran Kembhavimathada (MS) successfully defended their Thesis / Project Proposals. Vidyasagar Sunkavalli successfully defended his Thesis titled "Equilibrium Adsorption and Hysteresis Effect of Water Vapor onto a Series of Activated Carbon Adsorbents". Congratulations All! Special Congrats to Vidyasagar who graduated this May semester!!! Kim D. Jones Professor, Chair Environmental Engineering Office: 361-593-3046 Fax: 361-593-2069 Email: [email protected] http://

Undergrad Corner

Feel the Javelina Pride--Register for Hoggie Days!! Go to schedules.html to reserve your session or call (361) 593-3907. Welcome to the new BS Students: Fernando Arredondo, Azia Hinojosa, Justin Long, Marissa Pena, Theresa Perez, and Weston Tietze. If interested in joining the AAEE Organization please contact Jonathan Gorman (BS) the President at [email protected] If interested in joining the AWMA Organization please contact Prajay Gor (PhD) President at [email protected] If you have any questions you can contact our department at 361-593-4330 or send Cathey an email at [email protected] Go to Page 2

Environmental Engineering Department News

Page 2

Alumni News


Dr. Muthu Kuchanur (EVEN Class of `06) now has P.E. listed behind his name. Muthu is a Water Resources Engineer at Daniel B. Stephens & Associates, Inc in New Mexico. He also is an Associate Editor at International Journal of Water Resources and Environmental Management (IJWREM). Rahul Abhyankar (EVEN Class of `01) is a Sr. Business Analyst for Rolta India Limited in India. Avanti Kavathekar (EVEN Class of `08) is an Environmental Engineer at MPR Engineering Corp in Illinois. Naga Aditya Yadavalli (EVEN Class of `06) and his wife were recently blessed with bay boy. Naga is working at Lincoln Electric System in Nebraska. Avinash Athelli (EVEN Class of `10) is an Economic Research Assistant with Cardno Entrix in Texas. Dr. Vivekanand Honnungar (Class of `09) is an Associate Fellow at The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) in India. ***LinkedIn is a great way to stay in touch with our Alumni--please connect with Cathey Allen if you can.

Faculty / Staff News

Dr. Hongbo Su had his EVEN 6329 class (Enviro Monitoring & Measurements) visit the Kingsville Waste Water Treatment plant. (Pictured right) Dr. Lee Clapp traveled to Houston, TX to present at the American Association of Drilling Engineers Conference; the following day he participated in the 21st Annual Practical Short Course "Analysis and Diagnosis of Membrane Filtration Fouling" in College Station, TX. April 13-14, 2011. Dr. Venkatesh Uddameri traveled to Baltimore, MD to participate in the National Ground Water Association (NGWA) Ground Water Summit and 2011 Ground Water Protection Council Spring Meeting. He was accompanied by EVEN students; Josue Delara Bashulto (PhD), Joseph Amaya (PhD), Maricelo Arreola (MS) and Diamond Yocum (BS) all of whom gave poster presentations. April 30, May 5, 2011. Dr. Kim Jones, Abel Garza (Env Liaison Officer, ISEE) Idolina Cortez (Admin Officer, ISEE) and Javier Guerrero (PhD Student) traveled to the Austin Convention Center in Austin, TX for the 2011 Texas Environmental Excellence Awards Finalists event. There they received an award under the Innovative Operations/Management category, titled the "Lower Rio Grande Valley Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Stormwater Task Force" Award. May 4-5, 2011. Dr. Lee Clapp gave a presentation at the Kenedy County Groundwater Conservation District's Board of Directors meeting in Sarita, TX. He was accompanied by PhD students Yaneth Gamboa, Jose Cabezas, Muhammad Ibrahim and MS students Waldy Fernandez and Daniel Heuston. May 18, 2011. Dr. Jianhong Ren was informed that her manuscript titled "Model Simulations of Particle Aggregation Effect on Colloid Exchange between Streams and Streambeds", Author (s) Areepitak, Trachu (PhD), and Ren, J. was accepted for publication in Environmental Science & Technology. May 18, 2011. Dr. (s) David Ramirez and Hongbo Su led the very successful STEP 2011 May-mester Summer Research Program. Cesar Moran (MS) and Debbie Garcia (BS) were mentors assisting HS students. May 16-27, 2011. Congratulations to Dr. Venkatesh Uddameri and Dr. Alvaro Martinez who became United States Citizens and to Sheryl Custer, Director, Javelina Engineering Student Success Center for the College of Engineering, for receiving her PhD in Education from Capella University.

Cesar Moran assisting a student

Debbie Garcia assisting Lindsey Harper and Roberto Castro

Go Javelina's !!!!


2 pages

Report File (DMCA)

Our content is added by our users. We aim to remove reported files within 1 working day. Please use this link to notify us:

Report this file as copyright or inappropriate


You might also be interested in

Microsoft Word - AR_425_EnvSys_08_Spring.doc
Microsoft Word - Integrating Mobile Technology into the GIS Classroom.doc