Read 09Nationals-TX.pdf text version

Texas Forensic Association

would like to celebrate and congratulate its Stars!


National Forensic League "Stars Fell on Alabama" Nationals Birmingham, Alabama June 13-20, 2009

We congratulate all of our qualifiers. In this package, we will put a spotlight on students who made it to Round 9 or higher in Main Events and were Finalists in Supplemental and Consolation Events. Once again, congratulations to all who made the trip to Alabama!

We begin by congratulating our winners of

School of Excellence Awards

Speech Harlingen South High School Winston Churchill High School Debate Bellaire High School Northland Christian High School Winston Churchill High School All Events Winston Churchill High School

And now the individual stars of the TFA....

Humorous Interpretation

Finalists 3rd Place Michael Dayne Lathrop ­ Corpus Christi Carroll HS Semi-Finalists 10th Place Wade Johnson ­ Lamar Consolidated HS Rounds 9+ Noriko Martinez ­ Grand Prairie HS

Dramatic Interpretation

Finalists 3rd Place Elias Abdalla ­ Gregory-Portland HS Semi-Finalists 12th Place Peru Flores ­ Odessa Permian HS Rounds 9+ Lindsey Howard ­ Elkins HS Wilson Bondeson ­ Winston Churchill HS

Duo Interpretation

Finalists 6th Place Luke Fernandez & John Reynolds ­ Harlingen South HS Semi-Finalists 12th Place Patrick McDonald & Kate Daugherty ­ Mansfield HS Rounds 9+ Matthew King & Lawryn LaCroix ­ Creekview HS Kaitlin Hoag & Stone Meyer ­ Grapevine HS Sarah Lavere and Andrew Wofford ­ Winston Churchill HS

United States Extemporaneous Speaking

Finalists 3rd Place Nicholas Cugini ­ Cypress Ridge HS Rounds 9+ Amy Chen ­ Flower Mound HS Nicholas Stevens ­ John H. Guyer HS Katie James ­ Northland Christian HS Haley Wheat ­ Whitehouse HS

International Extemporaneous Speaking

Finalists 5th Place Sesenu Woldemariam ­ Houston Lamar HS Semi-Finalists 9th Place Gabriela Barahona ­ Spring HS Rounds 9+ Shahid Ahmed ­ Plano Senior HS

Original Oratory

Finalists 2nd Place Morgan Booksh - McNeil HS 4th Place Alexandra Elam ­ Plano Senior HS Semi-Finalists 9th Place Briana Collins ­ Winston Churchill HS 13th Place Tramanh N. Hoang ­ J. Frank Dobie HS Rounds 9+ Kara Tapangan ­ Harlingen South HS

Student Congress Senate

Finalists 5th Place Kalyan Venkertraj ­ A&M Consolidated HS Bryan Campanello ­ Southlake Carroll HS Semi-Finalists John Williams ­ Bellaire HS Desiree Reyes ­ Harlingen South HS Melanie Daugherty ­ Atascocita HS Samuel Scott ­ Plano Senior HS Alex Helm ­ Northland Christian HS Jeremy Scroggs ­ Coram Deo Academy Alex Chavez ­ Ysleta HS

Student Congress House of Representatives

Finalists 4th Place Rahul Sangal ­ Plano East HS 6th Place Louise Lu ­ Bellaire HS 7th Place Phillip Hayes ­ Lindale HS Ainee Athar ­ Kerr HS Ali Mavrakis ­ Plano West HS Semi-Finalists Parker Burns ­ Southlake Carroll HS Chris Hamblin ­ McNeil HS Brian Hodge ­ Cypress Falls HS

Policy Debate

Finalists 5th Place Andrew Murray & Alexander Nasr ­ Colleyville Heritage HS 14th Place Matthew Malek & Meagan Sanchez ­ Crosby HS Rounds 9+ Jacob Aronowitz & David Wang ­ Bellaire HS David Jagneaux & Eric Wey ­ Grapevine HS Kush Patel & Chris Patterson ­ Greenhill School Andrew Cornish & Tyler Gregston ­ Hallsville HS Kelly Cunningham & Chris Solis ­ Winston Churchill HS Speaker Award 6th Place Carl Fitz ­ A&M Consolidated HS

Public Forum Debate

Finalists 13th Place James Cossey & Jonathan Crews ­ Northland Christian HS Rounds 9+ Andrew Chako & Raj Mistry ­ LV Hightower HS Susan Czaikowski & Nicole Vital ­ Lamar Consolidated HS Cassie Robinson & Jared Woods ­ Northland Christian HS Steven Delperdang & Jacob Koshak ­ Seven Lakes HS Moshe Dolejsi & Dylan Losey ­ Vanguard College Prep School

Lincoln Douglas Debate


National Champion Shivani Vohra ­ Hockaday School

6th Place Danielle Smogard ­ Greenhill School 10th Place Ryan Bennett ­ Southlake Carroll HS 11th Place Devin Race ­ Westlake HS Rounds 9+ Saif Kazim ­ Cypress Falls HS Carson Chalmers ­ Marcus HS Nick Lassus ­ Houston Jesuit HS Paul Tyger ­ Houston Jesuit HS Jorden Nerison ­ Ronald Reagan HS Tyler Cook ­ Salado HS


Finalists 2nd Place Andrew Knight ­ Spring HS 3rd Place Robert Jackson ­ Hastings HS 6th Place Alex Maranto ­ Stony Point HS


Finalists 6th Place Kara Tapangan ­ Harlingen South HS


Finalists 4th Place Megan Fountain ­ Montgomery HS


Finalists 2nd Place Andrew Asper ­ Ronald Reagan HS

This list was compiled from the unofficial un-audited electronic results posted on the NFL website. I hope I did not miss anyone and spelled all names correctly. Once again, congratulations to everyone from your EC. Raul Ruiz, EC Secretary


9 pages

Report File (DMCA)

Our content is added by our users. We aim to remove reported files within 1 working day. Please use this link to notify us:

Report this file as copyright or inappropriate


Notice: fwrite(): send of 199 bytes failed with errno=104 Connection reset by peer in /home/ on line 531